Board and Staff

Meet Doris Fukawa, Crowden's Executive and Artistic Director

Crowden Executive and Artistic Director Doris Fukawa

Named Executive and Artistic Director in 2005, Doris Fukawa’s connection to Crowden is far more deeply rooted. She attended kindergarten through second grade right here on Crowden’s campus, at the old Jefferson School, and her family still owns a local launderette/dry cleaners just two blocks away. Anne Crowden was Doris’s primary violin teacher in her youth, and Doris helped Anne with the community “Extension” program in the school’s earliest days. As Executive Director, Doris founded the John Adams Young Composers Program and the Mancini Lecture Series at Crowden, and initiated community collaborations ranging from our public school outreach program at Berkeley’s Washington School to our Suzuki Strings program offered in collaboration with Livermore’s Sycamore Strings, as well as recent creative collaborations with the San Francisco Ballet School. Under her stewardship, Crowden established an endowment, and renovated its main performance hall into the Jacqueline and Peter Hoefer Auditorium, featuring Meyer Sound’s state-of-the-art Constellation system.

A well-known Bay Area violinist and educator, Doris actively teaches and conducts both at Crowden and beyond, including the San Francisco Conservatory of Music Pre-college Division and in her private Oakland studio. She has performed with the San Francisco Symphony and Opera Orchestras, the Oakland East Bay Symphony, Midsummer Mozart, and Skywalker Symphony. Doris holds a B.Mus. from the Manhattan School of Music and a M.Ed from Columbia University Teachers College.

Crowden Music Center Board of Trustees


Anne Nesbet,

Timothy Der, Cary Koh, Vice Chairs

Tracy Dooley,

James Marks,


Angela Archie
Joan Balter
Donna Eyestone
Shawn Freedberg
Zachary Griffin
Harry Loucks
Jerome Matthews
Jacob Pak
Maria Poncel
Sangam Prasad
Doris Fukawa, ex officio

Music Advisory Board

John Adams
Bonnie Hampton
Gary Karr
Michael Morgan
Sir Simon Rattle

Advisory Board

Sallie Arens
Patrick Golden
John Lowitz
Bennett Markel
John McCarthy
Helen Meyer
Deborah O'Grady

Honorary President

Lord Yehudi Menuhin

Founding President

Colin Hampton (1911–1996)

Crowden Music Center Staff

Marion Atherton

Marion Atherton

Associate Director
Maria Danielson

Maria Danielson

Staff Accountant
Monica Frame

Monica Frame

Counselor, Crowden School
Doris Fukawa

Doris Fukawa

Executive and Artistic Director, Violin and Ensembles, Crowden School and Community Programs

Sharon Han

Development Assistant

Jed Holtman

Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson

Principal and Upper School English, Crowden School

Colette Maser

Summer Program Assistant
Heidi Mattson

Heidi Mattson

Assistant Principal and 4th Grade Teacher, Crowden School
Debra Mauro

Debra Mauro

Director of Finance and Operations

Jorge Mendoza

Buildings and Grounds Assistant
Moana Newman

Moana Newman

Director of Development

Nicole Rodriguez

Reynaldo Rodriguez

Reynaldo Rodriguez

Buildings and Grounds Supervisor
Eugene Sor

Eugene Sor

Director of Music, Crowden School, Cello, Crowden School and Community Programs
Jen Strauss

Jen Strauss

Director of Communications
Elizabeth Tackett

Elizabeth Tackett

Admissions Manager, The Crowden School
Michel Taddei

Michel Taddei

Bass, Crowden School and Community Programs, Director of Artistic Administration

Stephannie Tornow

School Secretary, Operations Coordinator

Diana Wahl


Our Mission

Crowden combines music and education to nurture, develop, and inspire students of all ages, and provides essential support to the musical life of the community.